Ariana Grande Song Breathin

Ariana Grande Single Song “Breathin”

Ariana Grande Single Song “Breathin”

You may also like : Ariana Grande Single Song “Thank U, next”

‘Breathin’ is about breathing when you’re anxious. It’s about anxiety and feeling like when you can’t get a full breath. It’s like the worst feeling in the whole world. It’s a song about that feeling, I was having lots of [anxiety attacks]. We were in the studio, we were writing and I was like, ‘Ugh can’t breathe.’ And they were like, ‘We’re going to write this song.’ And I was like, ‘OK, I still can’t breathe, but we’ll write it.'”Breathin” (stylized in all lowercase) is the third single and ninth track from Ariana Grande’s fourth studio album, Sweetener. It was released through Republic Records on September 18, 2018.[3]

Click here the Lyrics : Ariana Grande Song Lyrics “Breathin”


The track was first teased in a scene in the “No Tears Left To Cry” music video, released on April 20, 2018, which displayed the entire track list for Grande’s fourth album, although not in order.

On June 17, 2018 Grande answered to a fan on Twitter that the song is about an anxiety attack she felt.[4]

Grande spoke about this track on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, stating that she was anxious while recording it and experiencing anxiety attacks. She had to leave the booth to get some air and quiet time.[5]

On August 24, 2018, the audio of “breathin” was uploaded on Grande’s YouTube account, which as of October 2018 has over 50 millions views. In September 2018, after charting at Top 40 on the US Pop Radio Chart, the song was released as the album’s third single impacting US contemporary hit radio on September 18, 2018.[3][6]

Commercial performance

“Breathin” is one of Ariana Grande’s most successful non-singles. When Sweetener came out, the song debuted at No. 4 on the Worldwide iTunes songs chart and peaked at No. 1 on the US iTunes singles chart.[7]

The song debuted at No. 22 on the Billboard Hot 100 and at No. 8 on the ARIA and UK Singles charts, being Grande’s first non-single track to reach the Top 10 in the UK and her eighth song overall.[8] The track sold 27,800 digital downloads in its opening week, allowing it to also enter the Digital Songs chart at number four.[9] The following week, “Breathin” dropped fifteen positions to number 37 on the Hot 100.[10] It debuted at No. 1 on the Greece Digital Songs.[11]

“Breathin” also had the 4th biggest debut day by a female artist on Spotify after debuting at No. 3 with 4,082,390 streams on Worldwide Spotify and debuted at No. 4 on Spotify’s US Top 50 chart.[12][13]

Music video

An unofficial music video of the song was uploaded on Grande’s Youtube account on October 10, 2018, starring her pet piglet, Piggy Smallz, curiously approaching the camera and walking around on a bed with a plush cover.[14] Shot by Grande, she said she hoped the video would make fans laugh while they await the real music video.[15][16]

The official music video of “Breathin” was directed by Hannah Lux Davis and shot between October, 21 and October, 25 2018.[17][18] It was released on November 7, 2018.[19][20]

Live performances

Grande debuted “Breathin” live on August 20, 2018 at The Sweetener Sessions. The song was also performed on the one-hour special, Ariana Grande at the BBC, recorded on September 7, 2018 and aired on November 1.[21][22][23]

The song had its first televised performance live on The Ellen DeGeneres Show on November 7, 2018 where Grande also performed her single “Thank U, Next“.[24]


  1.  Ariana Grande Predicted She Would Marry Pete Davidson Three Years Ago
  2.  Ariana Grande ‘Sweetener’ Review: One Of 2018’s Best Pop Albums
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 Top 40/M Future Releases – Mainstream Hit Songs Being Released and Their Release Dates
  4.  Twitter – Ariana about “Breathin”
  5.  YouTube – Ariana Grande Predicted She Would Marry Pete Davidson Three Years Ago
  6.  Loud Luxury’s “Body,” Ariana Grande’s “Breathin” Reach Top 40 At Pop Radio
  7.  Twitter – Joan Grande about “breathin” being #1 on US iTunes
  8.  Official Charts Company – breathin
  9.  Ariana Grande Earns 10th Top 10 Hit, Lands 10 Songs on Billboard Hot 100
  10.  Top 100 Songs – The week of September 8, 2018
  11.  Greece Digital Song Sales : Sep 01, 18
  12.  Ariana Grande’s “Breathin,” “GIAW,” “Everytime,” “Sweetener” Make Top 10 On Daily US Spotify Chart
  13.  Ariana Grande’s ‘Sweetener’ Breaks Global Spotify Weekly Record For A Female Artist
  14.  Ariana Grande and Pete Davidson’s Pet Pig Piggy Smalls Just Made Its Glorious Music Video Debut
  15.  Ariana Grande Is ‘Feeling Better’ After Break as She Releases New Music Video Starring Pet Pig
  16.  Ariana Grande Responds To Critics Of The ‘Sweetener’ Era
  17.  Twitter – @ArianaToday – About Hannah Lux Davis being director of “Breathin” music video
  18.  Twitter – @ArianaToday – Hannah Lux Davis via Instagram: “Up to somethin special with this one ♡ Love you too @ArianaGrande ♡ 👼🏼☁️”
  19.  Twitter – “Breathin” music video release date
  20.  Ariana Grande Drops Official ‘breathin’ Music Video
  21.  When Was ‘Ariana Grande At The BBC’ Filmed? The Show Was Taped In Advance
  22.  Ariana Grande at the BBC offers fans a snapshot of a happier time – review
  23.  Ariana Grande performs Sweetener songs for BBC TV special: Watch
  24.  Ariana Grande to perform breakup song Thank u, next, which references exes Pete Davidson and Mac Miller, on Ellen

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.